More Terrible Film Titles

I've done a couple of these posts before, in which I trawl through imdb.com and try to find some ridiculous early silent film titles. It never disappoints. For me, it's better never seeing these films; the delight comes from wondering what in the sweet, sweet hell these titles could possible mean. Some of these have appeared on this blog before, but I've included them if I can provide a bit more information on the title.

I've divided up films by year:

1908
A Smoked Husband
Rescued from an Eagle's Nest

1909
Her First Biscuits (which sounds filthy and stars Mary Pickford as 'Biscuit Victim')
The Maniac Cook
Trying to Get Arrested
Schneider's Anti-Noise Crusade
A Corner in Wheat
The Winning Coat
Eloping with Auntie
Eradicating Aunty (hopefully these two titles aren't related)

1910
All On Account of the Milk
Muggsy's First Sweetheart
The Dancing Girl of Butte
Thou Shalt Not (shalt not WHAT? This is driving me crazy)

1911
The Fair Dentist
A Gasoline Engagement
His Trust: The Faithful Devotion and Self-Sacrifice of an Old Negro Servant (ummmmmm)
What Shall We Do With Our Old?
Teaching Dad to Like Her

1912
The Mender of Nets (starring Mary Pickford as . . . 'Net Mender'. Sounds riveting.)
Just Like a Woman
Won by a Fish
A Blot on the 'Scutcheon
The Transformation of Mike
Lena and the Geese (which I can only assume is like Leda and the Swan, but with less sex. Hopefully.)

1914
For Those Unborn

1916
Hoodoo Ann
The Matrimaniac
The Mystery of the Leaping Fish
Reggie Mixes In (mixes in WHAT? Finish your damn film titles!)

1918
M'Liss

1928
Tillie's Punctured Romance

Please write in if you discover any more! Sadly, I think I've exhausted imdb for English-language stuff. I'd love to look at early French or German film titles (I bet they have some doozies), but since I don't speak French or German, they won't mean anything to me. Any reliable translators out there want to help out? 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More Terrible Film Titles

  1. Anonymous says:

    Mystery of the Leaping Fish

    You must watch this one. It’s quite short and stars Douglas Fairbanks as a drugged-out “scientific detective”: https://youtu.be/ZETMXchAViY

    —NW, Bijou Impromptu

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    Mystery of the Leaping Fish (2)

    Apparently LJ marked my previous comment as spam because I included a YouTube link to this must-see film starring Douglas Fairbanks as a drugged-out detective. No link this time!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Victorian Mad Libs | BizarreVictoria

  4. Pingback: BizarreVictoria: Celebrating 3 Years | BizarreVictoria

Leave a Reply

