Bad Inheritance

I found this story on Futility Closet's blog here. It is an excerpt from the will of Joseph Dalby of London, executed upon his death in 1784.

"I give to my daughter Ann Spencer, a guinea for a ring, or any other bauble she may like better: — I give to the lout, her husband, one penny, to buy him a lark-whistle; I also give to her said husband, of redoubtable memory, my fart-hole, for a covering for his lark-whistle, to prevent the abrasion of his lips; and this legacy I give him as a mark of my approbation of his prowess and nice honour, in drawing his sword on me, (at my own table), naked and unarmed as I was, and he well fortified with custard."

When someone leaves you their 'fart-hole' in a will, you know you've got to be a jerk.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bad Inheritance

  1. I adore the phrase ‘well fortified with custard’, despite having not a clue what it means!

    Like

Leave a Reply

