Those Polite Victorians

I found this story on Futility Closet. Their post is here. The following is an invitation sent by Madame de Lignerole to Augustus Hare on August 1, 1851. I'm not sure if perhaps English wasn't her first language and she overdid it on the fashionable, polite speech of the day, or what. The invitation read:

"Will you be so very kind as to allow me to take the liberty of entreating you to have the kindness to confer the favor upon me of giving me the happiness of your company on Friday?"

I don't know how Mr. Hare responded, but I sincerely hope he just wrote, "Sure."

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Those Polite Victorians

  1. Anonymous says:

    I pray that you will be so generous as to give me the favor of your time in order to convey upon you the nature of my enchantment with the content of this compelling post which I enjoyed and found engaging in the utmost.

    Like

Leave a Reply

