19th Century Dolls

I found the below images from following @Verity_Holloway on Twitter, who linked me to The National Museum of Play's online collection of 19th century dolls.

It all started with this first picture of an 1850's American "doll", which I COULD NOT STOP LAUGHING AT.
Z0027286
How is this a doll? It's a hunk of wood with eyes in it, like something straight out of Oz or Narnia or any other bad acid trip for children. The thing that cracks me up the most, though, is the product description of it: Style? Primitive.
There is literally nothing I can say that would be funnier than just looking at the picture.

Then there was this 1850s German "doll". Again, I use the term lightly, because I believe they meant to say "candle".
Z0074097
1.) Who wants a nun doll? 2.) Who wants a doll made out of wax?
I guess if you're interested in something that looks more realistic than a block of wood with eyes, and you want something that does "not stand up well to enthusiastic play" and can never see the light of day because it will melt, then Sister Mary Francis Tallow is the doll for you!

Finally, we have an English leather/wood/cloth peddler doll made sometime between 1830-1890.
Z0072669
This thing looks like that possessed child from The Others. While I'm fairly certain it's supposed to be female, I have no idea if it's an old woman, a little girl, or somewhere in between, and if she's supposed to be a friendly peddler or a night-terror archfiend peddler.

I guess I could get into the whole traveler lifestyle and how it was perceived both then and now, and how this doll might be a sensitive representation of selling one's wares, because she's made out of those wares, and how it ties in with identity and consumerism . . . but I won't, because I am talking directly out of my butt. And also because it's a doll. AN UGLY, UGLY DOLL.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

