Jane, Duchess of Gordon

So, Jane Duchess of Gordon (wife of the 4th Duke) was a Scottish noble who ALMOST lived to see the Victorian period. I'm getting closer, people, I swear. Anyway, she was very beautiful, wealthy, and high-up on the social ladder, but she was not exactly the most delicate of women. The book where I got the below quote calls her "coarse", but I'd say straight up that she had a nasty mouth on her.

She, being a total snob, was getting upset that titles were being given out too freely, thinking it devalued her own noble status. She was recorded as saying: “’Upon my word . . . one cannot look out of one’s coach window without spitting on a knight.”

Classy.

On a side note, I'm actually friends with an aristocrat from this family. He doesn't have a title, but his father is a lord and another close relative is . . . high up. Anyway, he loves love loves learning about his lineage, and I love love love it because he comes back and tells me all these wackadoo stories about his 5th great-grandfather, or his cousin eight times removed, or the leader of the Gordon clan who is–I kid you not–called "The Cock of the North". I'm going to see if I can get permission to write some of his stories here. I really don't want to be sued for libel.

Quote found in Grace and Philip Wharton's The Queens of Society, page 299.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jane, Duchess of Gordon

  1. Anonymous says:

    “The Cock of the North”

    There is a fantastic 6/8 march named after the chief of Clan Gordon whose title is that very nickname. Remind me to play it at you some time.

    Like

    • Re: “The Cock of the North”

      You are officially the first person to comment on my blog! Congratulations! I will remind you to play it at me.

      Also, according to my friend, there is a ceilidh dance called “The Gay Gordons” named after his clan, which got him teased mercilessly in high school. But I’m sure you already know that song, too.

      Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    Yarp.

    And yay! I’m the best.

    Like

Leave a Reply

